Genie migration integration DermEngine

DermEngine Integration for Genie

 

This page explains how to set-up the DermSync software to sync patient demography from the Genie software to DermEngine.

While using this software, patients opened on Genie will be transferred to the DermEngine platform. On DermEngine, images and lesions can be added to each patient.


Requirements:

  • A Windows or Mac machine with Genie installed
  • The user needs to have permission to install DermSync

 

Installation Steps:

  1. Download the integration software (DermSync).
For Windows
DermSync.exe
For Mac 64 bit (x64)
DermSync.app
  1. Create a folder that will be used for patient transfer files, and allow write access for any accounts using Genie.

  2. In Genie, set up a connection to export patient data in HL7 format. From the menu bar at the top, select "File", then select "Connections".
    Set Type to "File Transfer" and Format to "HL7" and set "Enable Export when ... clinical record opened" to checked.
    Set Machine to the name of the client machine. For each client machine, a new connection needs to be set up.
    The Export Directory and filename will need to be entered in the DermSync application in a later step.
    This file will be updated every time the patient's clinical record is opened.

    gn2.png


  3. In Genie, open a patient's clinical record. Confirm that the Current_Patient.hl7 file is created in the specified folder.

    gn3.png

  4. Double click to run the DermSync application or right click and select "Open".

  5. Select "Genie" from the drop down list

    select-gn.png

  6. In the DermSync application, open the folder set in Step 1. The Current_Patient.hl7 file is created when a patient is opened on Genie and deleted when the patient is closed. If there is no patient currently open, the name of the folder can still be entered.

    select.png


  7. Enter your email and either your password or access key on DermEngine. If you don't already have an account, visit https://app.dermengine.com/ or download the mobile app. To learn how to create an account click here

    DE-login.png


  8. Once you have successfully logged in, any patients opened on Genie will be available within your Patient List on the DermEngine web platform and mobile app.

 

Updates:

  1. When a new version of DermSync is available, the message below will pop up.
    By simply clicking "Update", DermSync will download the most recent version and restart.

    update.png
  2. If you are using DermSync v1.x, please make sure to first close the app by right clicking on the icon in the bottom right corner and selecting "Close". 

    bp5.pngbp6.png

 

FAQ:

Due to the fact that the machine needs to be selected from the drop-down for each computer, each connection should be set up individually. Alternatively, this can be set up once on the server. However, as a result, the popup messages (e.g. for duplicate patients) will not appear on the client and therefore the users can't take an action. For example, if the patient is similar to another existing patient on DermEngine, the popup message will allow the user to choose to merge the two patients or create another one. Therefore, it is recommended that DermSync is installed on each machine.
There is no limit on using DermEngine accounts simultaneously.
Yes, you can set it up while Genie server is running. When it's set up a copy of the patient data is exported from Genie, so there should not be any effects on the database.
On DermEngine each doctor/provider needs to have their own account. For DermSync, any account can be used. On DermEngine, all patients are shared within the clinic, so they can all use one DermEngine account. However, it is important to note that this doctor will be listed as the patient's doctor. As a result, if the doctor wants the patients under their own account each DermSync needs to have the corresponding doctor's DermEngine account.